dewy decimal


2005-02-04 - 4:14 p.m.

I'm going to go out on a limb and float my own boat for a second.

Despite being 5 days late and issued via e-mail format, at least one of my recommendations have been sent out.

It's always nice to have people that you respect show you a little muhfuckin love. Whether I get in or not has become beside the point.

To the admissions department:

While serving as arts editor at the "Honolulu Weekly," I met an �production assistant named Dustin, whose spirally doodles and haphazardly engaging fashion sense stood out. It was obvious that he is a multifaceted creative spirit.

Occassionally I'd run into Dustin at club events I was covering. We'd share critiques of the type of music the DJ was playing and the general hotness of the scene that surrounded us. Looking for a new voice to represent the Weekly's club column, Dustin offered to write one. Usually, I wouldn't accept work from a writer with no previous published clips, but somehow I sensed that what goes on in Dustin's mind needed to be unearthed for our readers.

Dustin turned in an intense, joyous and atmospheric column that captured the dark, lusty nightlife of paradise. I can recall his descriptions of the thudding group dance ritual, the fleeting glances from potential lovers and the ugliness of losing oneself in an alcoholic haze. For the next column, Dustin topped his first fresh piece, riffing on the Smith's song "This Charming Man." He continued to contribute strong writing to our newspaper on top of his graphic design duties.

I wholeheartedly recommend Dustin for admission to your program. I believe he would flourish at the unique environment at Sarah Lawrence.

Sincerely,

Li Wang
film critic
Harrisburg Patriot-News

Boooooo-yeeeaaah!

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!