dewy decimal


2003-08-20 - 9:35 a.m.

I crossed a downtrodden intersection on Vineyard Boulevard. My car was baking me when I saw the profile of a fat kid with two heads, standing at a tree-shaded intersection ahead of me. One head had gaunt features; the other had swollen his features shut, tight with fat. Both were staring directly across the street where they maybe-lived. Maybe, in a Circuis tent with bearded women and Chinese acrobats. Maybe in a pale blue hospital clinic with flippant dolphins on sterile curtains. Or maybe they didn�t live anywhere at all. Just existing and thinking with two mismatched heads. one for each leg. Two for one heart. 1:1 = 2:1� a mathematical phenomena

And although I knew such phenomena existed, I watched dumbfounded as the skinny head looked to the left, and the fat head to the right for any oncoming traffic. Operating like a monster and a machine. Efficiency and fantasy moving in one cooperative unit. I tried to fly to make sure I wasn�t dreaming.

As soon as the traffic had cleared itself out, the skinny head airily floated right off the fat-dimpled torso in stressed purple gingham. Revealing that a skinny boy had been standing beside the fat one who was equally tall, and the skinny had merely been unequally visible, eclipsed by metabolism.

Illusion or not, it was still the most provocative sight I had captured all week.

And the image still returns in the impressive clarity of most things that do not exist.

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!