dewy decimal


2005-01-07 - 3:35 p.m.

Well I'm 6 sessions into my writing course with Lois Ann and Mel and I have not written a single entry regarding the matter. So here goes.

Na'au is located near Papa John's and Longs on Vineyard Blvd. It's funny how so many of my activities have been taking place on this street in the past three years.

Lois Ann calls herself "the pennultimate fag hag." "Margaret Cho ain't got shet on me."

Mel is a tall soft spoken guy who is also gay. When I asked him if he would write my letter of recommendation to SLC he said, "Thank you for feeling comforable enough to ask, Dustin." He always thanks me for inquiries or comments that are in confidence.

The room is strewn with plants. Vases of water, bamboo root and fish. Mirrors and eastern fabrics. Whenever I arrive the place is usually filled with the curious voices of children. They call Lois Ann, "Aunty Lois."

The other students that I workshop with are all women. They seem to be a very receptive and soul-searching group of people and when I showed them my notebooks and sketches and timelines and concepts for my novel they came back next week with their own spreadsheets and roster of characters.

Lois Ann and Mel have been nothing but the kindest and most encouraging people. They are exactly who I needed to meet at this juncture in my life. They seem to belive in my talent that I as a writer was losing confidence in.

I've never mentioned to Lois Ann that my sister and I had been fans of her books since forever. Had never mentioned that my sister and I have a running joke that is based on her book Heads By Harry, where my sister refers to me as Shelly.

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!