dewy decimal


2004-06-09 - 4:33 a.m.

I've been cutting my own hair ever since Sarah left. I miss Sarah so much. Not just because I miss the free, professional shampooing that sent my scalp into warm tingles, but for all her insightfulness and humor. I am one of the few dirty dozen in this world who are lucky enough to have had a best friend who understood my hair as well as my heart.

People are always amazed when I tell them that I cut my own hair. It also pisses alot of my hair-stylist friends off for trivializing reasons you could probably imagine. I always go into defense and state, "Yes, I cut my own hair and there is nothing wrong with it despite what Dolly Parton said in Steel Magnolias." Also, no one understands the logistics of how I cut the hair on the back of my head.

The trick is not that it's a professional cut. No, by no means is there a trace of professionalism in my technique. The trick is; 1.) product that is right for your type of hair (in my case Sebastian Shaper Plus), 2.) knowing the irregularities of your scalp, and 3.) to have thick ass black hair so that the fuck-ups and rat bites are lost in the mass of wire that is seething from your scalp.

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!