dewy decimal


2004-06-07 - 5:52 a.m.

The snow was falling in slow motion and Gretchen and I were high after smoking 2 blunts and listening to some old Blue Note records in front of a tiny space heater. We decided that we'd walk around the corner to Albertson's Grocery which was literally right around the corner from my house. I needed a lighter and she just had the munchies.

We dilly-dallied the aisles for an unecessarily long amount of time, stopping at magazine racks and half-walls stocked with cheap, plastic toys. When we finally reached the forty-something checkout lady I asked her for one of the lighters behind the counter.

"That one," I said as I pointed to a purple one propped on a hook.

"Oh, the grape one?" the lady asked.

"Sure," I responded. Yeah, the grape one? Alrighty there. WTF?

Gretchen had an economy size bag of Gummy Bears on the grocery belt and said she would pay for the lighter as well since she was writing a check anyways. Gretchen took a long time in her stoney spell to write everything out and when she handed it to the clerk, the woman looked at it, squinted her eyes and crumpled her brow before handing it back to Gretchen, then the clerk cleared her thorat with a forceful "ahehemmm."

Me and Gretch looked over the check to see what was the matter and couldn't tell what the matter was until upon further inspection decided that the problem was definitely that Gretchen had written, Pay to the order of: ___Candy___

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!