dewy decimal


2004-05-21 - 5:33 a.m.

People are always asking what the meaning of life is. I find that this type of rhetoric is so fucking absurd because it's too general and shit. Probably a better question would be, How can we infuse our lives with meaning?

Lately I've been finding that most of my disappointments and struggles come from a lack of meaningfulness in my activities, as well as in my relationships and work.

The success of finding meaning in your life doesn't always come from inventing new meanings but sometimes also realizing meaning in the experiences we take for granted. Once that realization is accomplished, these experiences usually have a higher tendency and ability to generate new meanings and investigations.

Whatever I do this week, I will try to infuse it with more substance and awareness, creative impulses and ruminations alike.

The next time you encounter someone, why not listen to what the fuck it is that they're saying. I swear that sometimes if you just really listen to people, they will love you for it.

The next time your friends want to go out to the same bar you go to every weekend and come home wanting to slit your wrists, think again, and be creative when considering other options. Place yourself in situations that are new and stimulating instead of patronizing places that you would normally go to out of habit. Think about what you're doing and I bet that you'll be suprised by the rewards of thoughtfulness.

"I'm driven by an insatiable interest in the manifold shape in human activities, in the surface of life, and as long as I enjoy how things are pointless and hugely important at the same time, then I'm not afraid."

-Wolfgang Tillmans in Conversation with Mary Horlock

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!