dewy decimal


2003-11-12 - 8:57 a.m.

OMGWTF! Everyone around me is being consumed in some crazy love fog. They walk around like zombies, bumping into pillars, and running red lights that are so far into themselves that they are about to go green.

Even my sister, who has never had a boyfriend in her entire life, has bouquets of roses all about the house. There's satin ribbons and dark chocolates everywhere. Her boyfriend, Troy, a sturdy Japanese kid with a shaved head who works at the gas station down the street, nods at me everytime we've found ourselves in the same room. And most nights, when I get home drunk, I find them spooning on the couch and I slip by silently, usually to get a glass of water.

Even Vanessa has got a new man and never calls me anymore. Like I've never had that happen to me before. Yeah, another one bites the dust. Her new beau, David, is the lead singer of this band called Linus. He's lanky as hell and often has his head tilted downward like a kid who's just been reprimanded. His slouchy posture rests against walls, soft and easy. The ways his eyes are eyes are always reading the moments, kind of squinty and innocent, you can tell something about that kind of person. It's the gaze that retrieves the first light of day, the first day of light. What a fuckin keeper! Vanessa deserves the best and there's a calm that settles over me when I see them together, not weighty but relieving-departures on sound transports.

Even David's found someone new! Says that this guy is HIV positive, but David has never concerned himself with these kind of matters. He's always been a champion for the underdog. Green cards, stray cats, and fist fights, that's Davey alright. "Dustin, I've never been this happy in such a long time." He moves through sideward steps, slipping through the people who are going backward, who are going forward.

Hey, I'm sorry these past journals have been so godamn shitty. I'm going to start writing better soon, as I will be taking a class from Lois Ann Yamanaka. All I need now is a muse to amuse me. Any takers?

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!