dewy decimal


2003-01-29 - 01:04:34 �

As I currently force myself to use what little energy left I have to write this little documentation of my 25th birthday, I am listening to the Adult. album Resuscitation . I have been buying waaaay too many CDs recently. I copped: buzzcocks, the streets, joy division, blood brothers, cat power.

Anyways, yesterday I hesitantly told a few of my friends that it was my birthday. Gretchen called from Boston, David from Salt Lake City....a nice way to start the day.

Despite the fact that my birthday was written on the dry erase board at work, no one seemed to have remembered, which is fucking fantastic. I hate certain types of attention. This includes attention regarding birthdays, boogers, and anything attached to the statement,"hey you fucker".

Moms and Pops and Karina dutifully took me to Red Lobster where I glutenously ate 2 pounds of crab limbs (the insects of the sea as Shari likes to call them). Mom asked me how it felt to be 25, I conceded that it feels a little tingly behind my neck. Though later I discovered it was only because I hadn't smoked in 3 effing hours.

Later I met up with K. Wo, Ara, Jeff, and Jane at Starbucks�. Then we left for Chiko's Tavern and met up with Val, Vanessa, Mike, Lee, Jacky, Astra and Everet. Later Twan and Jeff came too. Shari, Keoni, Lawrence and Billy showed up even later. Twan and Ara sang a few fierce numbers, we all drank, my torso tight with liquor.

Later Everett, Jacky, Jon, Astra and I went to Angles for a minute. It was a nice low key birthday amongst some of my favorite people; friends old and new. I entered my second day as a 25 year old a little drunk, just in time to see 24 slip itself quietly amongst the eroding volumes of memory that have led me here to you now. A pleasure, I'm sure.

P.S. that YYY's song "Maps" from the Peel Sessions is sooooooooooooo moving and perfect. Bet you five bucks it will fuck you up.

"In many ways they'll miss the good old days Someday, someday Yeah it hurts to say but I want you to stay Sometimes, sometimes When we was young ah man did we have fun Always, always Promises they break before they're made Sometimes, sometimes" -Le Strokes Someday

------------------------------------------------------------------------

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!