dewy decimal


2003-01-16 - 20:41:27 �

Yay! I got a job today at the Honolulu Weekly! I haven't worked in two weeks and although I will miss waking up at the ungoldy hour of 2pm, I must say that I was starting to yearn for the regularity that anykind of schedule entails. So, gooey-eyed and hard-on ridden I will rise to slip on my converse sneaks and punch the clock. mama gots ta feed her babies...yknwhamsayn? To reward myself for securing a job, I went to Ala Moana shoping center, closed my eyes as I passed the criminal Neiman Marcus, and went straight to Diesel and bought a sweater/cardigan that I now notice is a little too small despite a deceptive tagged indicating that it is indeed a medium, which I would usually drown in. Riding the guilt laden pleasures of my limited spree, I went to Jelly's and bought the old Tracy and the plastics album. I must say that the album thus far seems a little to ambitious, tryin to be all avant garde and shit. I should've bought Le Shok instead. le sigh.

A strange thing happened the other day as I was driving through Chinatown on my way to Vanessa and Mike's. There was an old, but by no means fragile looking man standing on the corner in front of a modest lei shop. The man hesitantly called out to an older woman passing him as if to say, "Marla? Hey! Hey, Marla!" when suddenly a short but apparently forceful gust of wind popped the man on the shoulder as he rolled, in a way that mocks a bowling pill fall, upon the pimp-saliva filmed sidewalk. The man, a bit shocked (as I would be) moved his extremities around searching for something grounded (ideally the ground) to help him into a more respectable posture. But as I sat, audience style, in my old ass civic at the stop sign, i watched as the old man continued to make violent stabbing gestures at the air like an overturned cockroach (cruel analogy, i know) that made him start to spin around like a breaker on a lounge tune. It was fucking strange like the time a bird dropped an egg on my manager's bleached do, but not nearly as funny. The light turned green as I was forced to abandon the absurd scenario. Surely if the man had been active in the senior's cardio kickboxing program with Marla and her friends at the Y, this never would have happened. He would instead have been able to not only redeem himself with a nice little kip, but also impress with a profound "Eeeeya".

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!