dewy decimal


2005-04-02 - 6:24 p.m.

I'm so bored of entertaining and of having to go out to cut fresh heliconia and bemiliad from the jungles of my back yard. My family has engagements every weekend it seems, where I am once again forced into restrictive clothing for more dead-end conversation over Lapsang Souchong. Tonight I'm going for that riviera look. The airiness. The leisurely quality. The thoughtfullness of weather.

I try. I do. Believe it or not, I could care less. But my conversations with these fair weather friends can never take full flight while I'm still in the closet, cross legged, thinking of ways that I can explain my expeditions and literary endeavors without some reference to faggotry.

My Dad and I have one past time that we enjoy together: humour. We crack jokes and like to watch stand up comedy together on a lazy evening's bed. Today he wanted me to watch Augie T's stand up. So I did and it turns out Augie T has a gay son and he has this whole repetoire based on their relationship. There is even an interview with the son regarding the matter. Pretty funny and slightly offensive stuff. I think my Dad related to the jokes pretty well because he was clapping and busting a gut and there were times where a warm, engaged look would settle on his mustachioed face. I would like to say that he almost looked moved. Which moved me. Which made me realize that we are in a good place.

Ok, it's showtime, as I hear the cars pulling in. Ciao ciao.

slip - step

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!